Frozen and Saving Mr. Banks

Hey all!

Yet another blog from me! I’m on fire, huh? =P This time I have two movies to talk about. I went out earlier today and saw both Frozen and Saving Mr. Banks. Both I thought were really great movies. If you think about it, I guess it’s in some ways preparing me for when I am in Orlando for my Disney Internship. =P

First movie up is Saving Mr. Banks, the untold story of how the movie Mary Poppins came to be. It features fantastic performances particularly that of Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, who play P. L. Travers and Walt Disney respectively. The movie goes back and forth between the 1960s and P. L. Travers’ childhood which helps us understand what her childhood meant to her and why she is very protective on her Mary Poppins character. It’s also one of those movies that hits right at home in regards to the relationship between her and her father growing up. Towards the end, I did shed a couple of tears but with good reason.

Overall, I was very impressed with how well-made the movie was as I had been looking forward to seeing the first time I saw the trailer to it earlier this year. So the movie earns a 4 out of 4 stars rating in my book.

Up next is Frozen, Disney’s non-Pixar animated film. As a guy, it may seem odd to be watching a princess movie, and I wasn’t that impressed with the teaser of it. After hearing how good it was, I was rather curious to check it out, but what really prompted me to see it was how dark of a tone it had in certain parts. After seeing it, I can see why they would say that. It brings back that foreboding feel from earlier Disney movies like Snow White and Pinocchio. Sure the movie had one song too many, and yes, it was a Disney princess movie. However, it had enough to keep me entertained, and I really enjoyed it way more than Tangled. πŸ™‚ With strong chemistry between the characters and a witty script, it’s great to see Disney animated films getting back on track! And that is a lot to say considering how the more recent Pixar movies have been.

Yet again, this movie earns a 4 out of 4 stars rating. πŸ™‚

When I think about it, I’m all for more mature Disney movies! It’s very refreshing to see a Disney movie that isn’t so bogged down by one cliche after another, and that can drive a person up the wall as far as predictability goes. I mean it’s okay if they can be silly sometimes, but I would be all for something as witty as Frozen. Shoot, even the comic relief in Frozen was worth watching, and I find most Disney comic reliefs to be very obnoxious beyond belief!

Speaking of mature movies from Disney, I don’t know why, but I’ve always thought it would be cool if they did a Gargoyles movie. This idea occurred when The Dark Knight came out. Even though I’ve only seen a few episodes of the show (I seriously should watch that and all other cartoons I’ve missed out on), I still think it would be cool if it happened. πŸ™‚ But hey, one can dream, right?

With that, I think this is a good stopping point for this blog. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading! And have a Happy New Year!

Eddie the Wolf signing off. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment